Tierkreis | Seiza / Seiza

direction, performance and drawings: Alessio Silvestrin
camera and editing: Aldo Lee

music: Karlheinz Stockhausen

TIERKREIS ( ZODIAC ) 12 Melodien der Sternzeichen ( 12 Melodies of the Star Signs )
Wassermann – Aquarius
Fische – Pieces
Widder – Aries
Stier – Taurus
Zwillinge – Gemini
Krebs – Cancer
Löwe – Leo
Jungfrau – Virgo
Waage – Libra
Skorpion – Scorpio
Schütze – Sagittarius
Steinbock – Capricorn

arrangement for 2 toy pianos and Japanese traditional percussion: Alessio Silvestrin
film and performance: February 20, 2013 Architanz Studio Chashitsu ( Tea Room )

explores TIERKREIS of Karlheinz Stockhausen in fusion with aspects of Japanese aesthetic and presents a multitasking performing situation.
This title combines 2 Japanese Kanji and associates their meanings in contrast and relation to each other.
To sit in seiza style, the legs folded under the thighs while the buttocks are resting on the heels involves the body in a form related to a specific cultural aspect of Japan.
By observing the similarity of the two Japanese Kanji, the seiza sitting position finds an association to the defined area of the celestial sphere where the Zodiac star sign constellations are located.

Stockhausen’s TIERKREIS: 12 Melodien der Sternzeichen / Zodiac: 12 Melodies of the Star Signs (1975) has been initially composed for 12 music-boxes. The 12 music-boxes are containing a different melody consisting of a different melody composed for each individual star sign of the Zodiac. Each of the 12 melodies has a different central pitch which forms the ascending chromatic scale (consisting of the 12 semi-tones) throughout the Zodiac cycle.
TIERKREIS has been arranged in transcriptions for different instruments as well.

The open instrumentation of the music score gave the initiative to engage in this unusual arrangement made by Alessio Silvestrin with the intention of respecting the original characteristics of Stockhausen’s Tierkreis. The traditional Japanese percussion, related to Buddhist rituals, has not been included with any religious implications, but rather connecting with the spiritual dimension which can be found in common in the aesthetic of the music works by Karlheinz Stockhausen.

In addition to the music, Alessio Silvestin made 12 drawings with pastel and crayon colors on paper for Zodiac star sign constellations, each of which has been inserted before each of the 12 melodies.